Malaysia celebrates the International Year of Light and the contribution of Ibn al Haytham to optics

The recently culminated 2nd Meeting of Malaysia Nitrides Research Group (MNRG 2015) was organized by Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) Centre for Research Initiatives (CRI) in Natural Sciences on 8-9 June 2015. This event was carried out in conjunction with Malaysia’s celebration for the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies 2015 (IYL 2015) in recognition of the contributions of Ibn al Haytham and other scholars in the field of optics and light-based technologies.


This meeting managed to draw attention of academics from several universities (University Sains Malaysia, University Malaya, University Teknologi Malaysia, University Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia, and University Teknologi MARA), as well as researchers from industries (Taiyo Nippon Sanso Corporation, Osram Opto Semiconductors (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd., Ulvac Malaysia Sdn. Bhd., and Quasi-S Sdn. Bhd.). The 2-day meeting was divided into four oral presentations sessions, which also include a plenary talk and three invited talks.

During the opening ceremony by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Research and Innovation, USM, Professor Dato’ Dr. Muhamad Jantan, he welcomed all participants and expressed the commitment of USM in fulfilling the mission and vision as an APEX (Accelerated Programme for Excellence) and research university. The Deputy Vice-Chancellor also expressed heartiest appreciation to the initiative taken by CRI Natural Sciences in bringing together all researchers from academics and industries throughout the country to exchange their valuable knowledge and findings in the field of III-nitrides semiconductors which have important applications in optoelectronic devices such as light emitting diodes (LEDs) for solid-state lighting as well as power electronic devices.  The Deputy Vice-Chancellor also added that it is an honor to USM to hold this event in conjunction with Malaysia’s Celebration for the International Year of Light 2015.

Prof.  Zainuriah Hassan
Prof. Zainuriah Hassan

A dedicated poster session was allocated after the opening ceremony to highlight the contributions of the father of Optics “Ibn al Haytham” and other scholars, as well as contributions of Nobel Laureates in the field of optics and light-based technologies. The poster tour was led by Professor Dato’ Dr. Muhamad Jantan, accompanied by Director of CRI Natural Sciences, and member of “Ibn al Haytham” International Working Group (IWG), Professor Dr. Zainuriah Hassan.

About IYL 2015

The International Year of Light and Light-Based Technologies (IYL 2015) is a global initiative adopted by the United Nations (A/RES/68/221) to raise awareness of how optical technologies promote sustainable development and provide solutions to worldwide challenges in energy, education, agriculture, communications and health.  With UNESCO as lead agency, IYL 2015 programs will promote improved public and political understanding of the central role of light in the modern world while also celebrating noteworthy anniversaries in 2015—from the first studies of optics 1,000 years ago to discoveries in optical communications that power the Internet today.  The IYL Global Secretariat is located at the Abdus Salam International Centre of Theoretical Physics (ICTP).

The Founding Partners of IYL 2015 are the American Institute of Physics (AIP), the American Physical Society (APS), the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG), the European Physical Society (EPS), the Abdus Salam International Centre of Theoretical Physics (ICTP), the IEEE Photonics Society (IPS), the Institute of Physics (IOP), Light: Science and Applications, the International Network, 1001 Inventions, The Optical Society (OSA) and the International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE). 

Patron Sponsors include Bosca, the International Association of Lighting Designers (IALD), Royal Philips Lighting, Thorlabs and UL.


Zainuriah Hassan
Director of Universiti Sains Malaysia CRI Natural Sciences
Member IWG Ibn Al Haytham

Azzedine Boudrioua
Steering Committee Chair
Coordinator of the WG Ibn Al Haytham

Maciej J. Nalecz
Director, Division for Science Policy and Capacity Building
UNESCO Natural Sciences Sector

John Dudley
Steering Committee Chair
International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies 2015

Joe Niemela
Global Coordinator (IYL Secretariat)
International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies 2015