International Conference “Colombia in the International Year of Light” – 16-19 June

The International Conference "Colombia in the International Year of Light 2015" will be held in three Universities of Bogota and Medellin on 16-19 June 2015. This conference provides a unique opportunity to invite scientists highly and successfully engaged in the study and applications of light and to promote their interactions with the small but enthusiastic community of Colombians working in this area. The conference will have the attendance of remarkable keynote speakers, including two Nobel Prize Laureates. The event is organized by the Colombian Academy of Exact, Physical and Natural Sciences in collaboration with the Universidad Nacional de Colombia (Unal) and Universidad de los Andes (Uniandes) in Bogota, and with the Universidad Nacional de Colombia (Unalmed) and Universidad de Antioquia (Udea) in Medellin.


The program is organized in such a way that on Tuesday 16 June the activities will be carried out at the National University of Colombia in Bogotá, while on Wednesday 17 June, they will be moved to the Universidad de los Andes. On Thursday 18 June and Friday 19 June the conference will move to the city of Medellin, where the activities will be organized by the University of Antioquia and the National University of Colombia, Medellín branch. More information on the timetable here.

Keynotes speakers include:

Professor David Winelad. The National Institute of Standards and Technology and University of Colorado, Boulder, USA. Nobel Prize in Physics 2012. His experimental works includes methods to control and measure charged atoms, or ions, through their interaction with photons.

Professor Serge Haroche. The College de France; Nobel Prize in Physics 2012. His experimental work has to do with control and measurement of photons trapped through interaction with Rydberg atoms in a trap stand.

Professor Alain Aspect. Augustin Fresnel Chair, Institut d'Optique, France. Winner of the UNESCO Bohr gold medal. Known for his experiments to settle the dispute between Bohr and Einstein about meaning of the wave function.

Professor William Unruh. University of British Columbia, Canada. He has contributed to our understanding of gravity, black holes, cosmology, and quantum fields in curved spaces, including the discovery of the so-called Unruh effect and Unruh radiation.

Professor Paulo Soares Guimarães. Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil. He is recognized for his theoretical and experimental contributions in the application of photonic crystals.

Professor Ana Maria Rey. JILA laboratory and the University of Colorado, Boulder, USA. She is a Colombian born scientist who has earned international awards. Her contributions consist of different theoretical methods to study certain related interfaces between atomic and molecular physics and optics, condensed matter physics and science of quantum information phenomena.

Professor Jean-Pierre Galaup. CNRS, Laboratoire Aimé Cotton, France. Prof. Galaup carries out recognized experimental research in different applications of optics and in the use of materials for processing information. His main contributions concern applications of optical tweezers and photon echoes.

Professor Suzanne Fery-Forgues. University of Toulouse, France. Prof. Fery-Forgues works on innovative methods for the detection of cancerous tumors based on fluorescence spectroscopy.

Professor Alejandro Mira. University of Antioquia. Colombia. Classical Optics.

Professor John Henry Reina. University of Valle, Colombia. His recent work relates to the use of light in the quantum control of molecules.

Professor Boris Rodriguez. University of Antioquia, Colombia. Quantum Optics.

Attendance to the Conference is free of charge. The organizers are keen to see students, members of research groups, and other interested persons at this conference. For online registration please fill out the registration form. Deadline for registration is 15 June.

The Conference is sponsored by Universidad Nacional de Colombia; Universidad de los Andes; Universidad de Antioquia; Universidad de Cartagena; Academia Colombiana de Ciencias Exactas, Físicas y Naturales; Ministerio de Educación Nacional; Embajada de la República de Francia; Ruta N; Parque Explora; Instituto Jorge Robledo.

More information on the Conference’s website.

About IYL 2015

The International Year of Light and Light-Based Technologies (IYL 2015) is a global initiative adopted by the United Nations (A/RES/68/221) to raise awareness of how optical technologies promote sustainable development and provide solutions to worldwide challenges in energy, education, agriculture, communications and health.  With UNESCO as lead agency, IYL 2015 programs will promote improved public and political understanding of the central role of light in the modern world while also celebrating noteworthy anniversaries in 2015—from the first studies of optics 1,000 years ago to discoveries in optical communications that power the Internet today.  The IYL Global Secretariat is located at the Abdus Salam International Centre of Theoretical Physics (ICTP).

The Founding Partners of IYL 2015 are the American Institute of Physics (AIP), the American Physical Society (APS), the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG), the European Physical Society (EPS), the Abdus Salam International Centre of Theoretical Physics (ICTP), the IEEE Photonics Society (IPS), the Institute of Physics (IOP), Light: Science and Applications, the International Network, 1001 Inventions, The Optical Society (OSA) and the International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE). 

Patron Sponsors include Bosca, the International Association of Lighting Designers (IALD), Royal Philips Lighting, Thorlabs and UL.


Enrique Forero

 Colombian Academy of Exact, Physical and Natural Sciences

John Dudley
Steering Committee Chair
International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies 2015

Joe Niemela
Global Coordinator (IYL Secretariat)
International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies 2015