The 2015 Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics Annual Meeting celebrates the International Year of Light

The 2015 Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics (FIP) Annual Meeting will recognize the celebration of the International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies 2015 (IYL 2015) during its Annual Meeting, which this year will feature the celebration of the World Photonics Forum. The event, which will take place on 9-10 March 2015 in Duke University, United States of America, will include the participation of world-renown speakers, including two Nobel Laureates, and panel sessions on the influence and contribution of light-based technologies on science, human development and global economic development for the next century.


Key events will be a roster of distinguished speakers, including a Symposium Keynotes Lecture by Theodor W. Hänsch and a Forum Keynote Lecture by John L. Hall who share the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2005 “for their contributions to the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy, including the optical frequency comb technique". Other Plenary Speakers include John M. Dudley (IYL 2015 Steering Committee Chair and President of the European Physical Society); Federico Capasso (Robert Wallace Professor of Applied Physics, Harvard University); Eugene Arthurs (CEO SPIE, The International Society for Optics and Photonics); and Philip Russell (President of Optical Society and Director of the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light, Erlangen, Germany).

The event will also comprise contributed papers and posters by investigators from Duke and other academic and industrial institutions as well as Industry Booths and exhibitions such as IYL 2015’s LIGHT: Beyond the Bulb exhibit.

You can follow the FIP Symposium online on the following links:

Monday 9 March

Tuesday 10 March

The 2015 FIP Symposium is sponsored by the International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE) and the Optical Society of America (OSA).

For more information, please visit the 2015 FIP Symposium website.

About Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics

The Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics is an extensively interdisciplinary effort at Duke University to advance photonics and optical sciences. The institute leverages Duke's faculty from the Pratt School of Engineering, Trinity Arts and Sciences, and the Duke Medical School to explore problems at the boundary nexus of nano-bio-info-opto convergence.

The mission of the Fitzpatrick Institute is profoundly educational. The institute was founded in 2000 in part to meet an unmet industry need for graduates with the knowledge and skills to transform industrial R&D in photonics and optical science. Our faculty teach undergraduates, master's and doctoral students and foster the technical, collaboration, interdisciplinary exploration, and team-orientation skills set that enables our protégés to thrive in their chosen professions.

About IYL 2015

The International Year of Light and Light-Based Technologies (IYL 2015) is a global initiative adopted by the United Nations (A/RES/68/221) to raise awareness of how optical technologies promote sustainable development and provide solutions to worldwide challenges in energy, education, agriculture, communications and health.  With UNESCO as lead agency, IYL 2015 programs will promote improved public and political understanding of the central role of light in the modern world while also celebrating noteworthy anniversaries in 2015—from the first studies of optics 1,000 years ago to discoveries in optical communications that power the Internet today.  The IYL Global Secretariat is located at the Abdus Salam International Centre of Theoretical Physics (ICTP).

The Founding Partners of IYL 2015 are the American Institute of Physics (AIP), the American Physical Society (APS), the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG), the European Physical Society (EPS), the Abdus Salam International Centre of Theoretical Physics (ICTP), the IEEE Photonics Society (IPS), the Institute of Physics (IOP), Light: Science and Applications, the International Network, 1001 Inventions, The Optical Society (OSA) and the International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE). 

Patron Sponsors include Bosca, the International Association of Lighting Designers (IALD), Royal Philips Lighting, Thorlabs and UL.


Tuan Vo-Dinh
Director of the Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics
R. Eugene and Susie E. Goodson Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Duke University 

August Burns
Department Business Manager
Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics
Duke University

John Dudley
Steering Committee Chair
International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies 2015

Joe Niemela
Global Coordinator (IYL Secretariat)
International Year of Light and Light-based Technologies 2015